Silver Maple,

maggies dad

TreeHouser
I went and looked at a "trimming" job today on a silver maple. I got out and had to check and make sure I was at the right address, cause the maple in the yard was all dead except for about 1000 suckers all over it. The home owner told me that an "arborist" had just stopped by last week and told him that the tree would last another 10 yrs with trimming.??? I have very little experience with Maples but this thing looks stone cold dead to me. Am I missing something? Do maples go through a year long drought and have all the branches die and leaves fall off and then return to good health with trimming??? Im so confused.:?

The silver could make it if all of the dead was cut and allowed to sucker/sprout into a bush or a tree of very poor form and quality. I would push for removal.

The way you describe it it sounds like a goner to me but maybe they're more resilient where you are.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
The owner said he was going to think about it for a few days, so we will see. After this summer it seems like all the trees that didnt burn in the fires are just dying . It may be a good winter to cut firewood. Ill try to get some pics of the tree if I get the job. Yall have a great night.

Old Monkey, I live in North Texas about 30mile west of Fort Worth. Canadiantreeman, I'm going to run it by the owner, but I get the impression that he wants to take this tree down and plant another tree that he knows will grow and do well. We had 40 day over 100 degrees between July2nd and August 10th this year , and with watering restrictions I just dont think the owner was able to get enough water on the tree. I think I'm ready to move somewhere that it rains sometime. Thanks for the ideals guys, I will try to get by there tomorrow and get some pics of the tree so yall can see it. Night.