Chainsaw lanyard

MatthewMMeckley

TreeHouser
So since I have statted climbing I have always used a wes spur bungee with snap. I recetly switched to the stein bungee and a petzl non locking biner to hold the saw. What is a setup you guys use?

Up to recently I just used an old section of climbing line, but that's a no no so I have a sort of strop that breaks under strain.
Plus two retired Krabs.

I have a hank of 3/8 nylon 3 strand ( I think 300lb breaking), cut off a short length, 2 eye splices and some 75lb WLL aluminum accessory biners. If it's a bit long I'll daisy chain it and the last loop will be tied up with some thread., kinda like a resetable shock absorber.

I have the buckingham tear away, cheap on treestuff. I'm new to this overall and I've only used the lanyard twice so far, but I like it WAY better then the 4' nylon loop runner that i was using before. I even tied a biner into the sling just up from the saw which worked better, but i much prefer then bungee sling, and the safety of the breakaway.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I almost ordered that from you when I ordered my stein. I was using a DMM Locking O carabiner but didn't like having to fumble with unlocking it. So thats why i bought the non locking biner. Always love hearing back from all of you.

Buckingham bungee with tearaway, small rated accessory biner on saw end, small screwgate biner on harness end.

I was using the Buckingham tear away but would have to wrap the extra slack around my arm when I used the tree saw for occasional ground work.

Now use the TS version that Nick put a link to a few posts back. Extra length stays with saddle not with saw. Breaks at about 350 lb.

That's why I put a micro biner on the saw side Merle, so I could quickly remove the lanyard if I wanted to use the saw on the ground for a few cuts.