Raccoon removal...

• Thread starter Hobby Climber
  • Start date
  • Replies 84
  • Views 10K
H

Hobby Climber

Here's a new one for ya. The other day a past customer had me do some dead limbing on the peoperty. Once finished, she asked me if I'd be interested in getting rid of a raccoon living in her tree.

I suggested live catch box traps set at base of tree. She said they tryed that before and cought several cats. They stopped after they got a skunk. She tells me they called a few pest control places but they wanted way to much money: $150 to set the trap, $100 for an adult and $50 for each young raccoon caught & relocated.

The customer was dead set on haveing them gone and asked if I would set a live catch trap in the tree!

I told her I've never done this before but would give it a try. So for $100, (and I keep the new trap), I'll climb this big old oak tree and set a trap. I've figured out a way to release the trap from its anchored position in the tree and lower it to the ground from the ground safely.

Its maybe a 25' climb so no big deal on my part.

Just wondering if any of you guys ever had an odd request such as this before???

Bob

I trapped a bunch of ground squirrels for a customer before. No racoons. Sounds intresting.

I've had success live trapping raccoons on the ground .Never needed to set a trap in a tree . Old 'brer coon gets a tad testy once you get him in a trap .

I've had to remove a few Magpie nests from schools. They dive bomb the kids sometimes, anyone really during nesting season.

Only ever happened to me once. I parked my truck under their tree. #-o

magpie.jpg

No tree animal removals/trappings. I have trapped flying squirrels in my attic...12 one year.

Get some pictures of the setup...I would like to see how you do it.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter