Landscaping stump holes

cory

Tree House enthusiast
I have to bid on landscaping stump holes, adding top soil, seed and hay. I'm a rookie at this. Any tips?

Anyone know how many wheelbarrow loads are in 1 yard of topsoil?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I think the full size contractor wheel barrows are 6 cu ft, so if you conservatively figure 1 barrow can hold 5 cu ft then there is bit more than 5 barrows full in a cubic yard of top soil.

3x3x3=27 cu ft in 1 yard it all depends on how big the bucket on the mini is. If you're using a wheelbarrow, price it high. On a 20" stump ground to 8", I will get 3-4 buckets with the mini of grindings.

I'm set with the grinding part, just trying to price the soil/seed/hay part.

I think I've got it now, we'll see if I figured right if I get the work.

Usually to fill that hole it's 2-3 buckets with the mini.

Sorry I forgot that part.

...also actual top soil is only needed for the few inches it takes to support grass...if holes are deep a gravel or loam filler will cut cost as top is expensive by comparison

You don't want hay .Oat straw is best because it rots faster next is wheat straw .Almost nobody bales oat straw any more in these parts ,Fact almost noone plants it any more .

If you want a fast cover crop sow annual rye or wheat in with the grass seed .It comes up looking like grass and protects the young grass shoots which take longer to germinate .Plus it hids the grass seed from the birds .In about early July in most parts the wheat or rye will die off leaving just the grass .

At big green we often sold stump cleanup far and above the cost of the stump removal. We removed all chips, put soil in, graded, planted, seed, added starter fert and pen mulch/tacifier.

Its horrible work.

I did this on 600 stumps, but for the life of me cant remember the details. Peter might know, as he was working for me then, and drove the mini loader non stop for 2 weeks removing grindings and filling with top soil.