Rough starting saw

emr

Cheesehead Treehouser
My Jonsered 2152 is giving me fits right now when I am trying to get it started. It doesn't matter if it's warmed up or not. I can't start the thing unless I drop start it at full throttle. Even then it is difficult to get going at times. Choking it or not doesn't seem to make any difference either. Once it's started it runs perfectly. It's idles perfectly, it revs up perfectly, cuts wood as it always has. It just sucks starting it.

Does anyone have any possible solutions that I can try myself? I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination so it's got to be simple. Today I cleaned it up real good and put a new spark plug in it since it hasn't had a new one in over a year. I haven't tried it out yet.

It's not worth it to me to bring it in because any repair will be 1/3 of a new saws cost. Buts its also not worth much to me running like this.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

About 90 percent of the time it's a funky carb .Dang ethanol fuel puckers the diaphragms and they just don't do right .They either won't suck fuel or they fail open and flood .

Fact just tonight I took in an 024 Stihl that has a bad carb and floods .I got the SOB started after much effort but it won't restart without a fight .It's ten dollar fix for a rebuild kit .

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I guess I could try that but our saw gas has been ethanol free for several years now.... At least the past 2.

Would a bad carb explain hard starting but good performance after its started?

Well once you get it started the pressure changes within the crankcase and the diaphragm relies on crankcase pressure .Once you loose pressure the diaphragm collapses down on the fuel lever and tries the fill the crankcase full of fuel .Which of course it can't .Just enough to drown the plug and cause you fits .