Pinto pulleys

gumby25

TreeHouser
Ok, so is the bigger RIG pulley really much better than the smaller version??

I know that the bigger one has better efficiency and is bigger, but what do you guys think??

Mark,

I'm new to this whole thing myself, but here's what I know about the Pinto Rig Pulley.

The Pinto Rig Pulley is rated for about 11,000 pounds. 10% of that would be your working load limit (WLL). In other words, you'd be able to rig up a branch weighing about 1000 pounds using the Pinto Rigging Pulley. It is limited to 5/8" rope, however. You won't be able to use any rope larger than 5/8".

The much larger rigging blocks cost about 7 times more, but they accept much bigger rope. Unless you will need the strength of a 3/4" rigging rope, or larger, the Pinto Rig Pulley should handle most of your small to medium sized lowering projects.

Joel

I don't think you'd notice the difference in efficiency between a standard pinto and rig in that application. I've used both in a u-saver type setup and couldn't tell the difference.

Thanks for response Joel. I keep looking at them and really want one with a whoopie or loopie. I have the Standard Pinto which i use with a prussik when coming off long limb walks while working Srt. Also if I come down out the tree for lunch or a break I will use as a 2:1 advantage. Treestuff has the CMI stainless steel block which is like $105. I will purchase this when I get a job needing to block down some big wood. Thanks again

I love the pinto rig for light rigging. Hell, I'll admit, I've even used it too block some trees down. Nothing bigger than 16" for blocking down, but still, it's a tough little guy. Spliced mine onto a loopie

Rangerdanger,

I plan to use my Pinto rig pulley for blocking down some smaller trees, as well. Nothing over 12". I don't mind taking them down in smaller chunks, as it will all be used for firewood in the end.