Sticky spray from trees this spring

Eric H-L

Treehouser
I have been parking under the same trees for about 20 years. I get all kinds of debris on my van. Once a squirrel tail ripped off by a predator. This year there is something new, sticky like a mist coming down all the time. April, May and June. It’s hard to get off with water. Once I get it off it seems like it comes right back in days. My wife usually parks in the garage, but one night was enough to encase her car. I park under a Hackberry, she parked under an oak. She hates it on the cars. I don’t mind. I am more worried about our mature trees! Does this have something to do with multi years of inadequate rainfall? We have also lost a crabapple, maybe drought stress?

A couple of years ago we had a similar situation on our island. The Gumbo Limbo’s were leaving a black sticky goo on cars. I can’t remember exactly what it was but one solution was inoculating the tree. You might take a sample of the leaves to your agricultural extension office and see what they say.

My black locusts do that. Dunno if it's an indication of anything. I assumed it had something to do with the reproduction process.

My black locusts are at end of life, and have fungus, so the spray being a pathogen isn't off the table.

Wow! Just yesterday I saw that my bucket and chip truck, which park adjacent to a large red oak, were basically covered with tiny dots of very sticky material. My only guess is that is was aphid poop though the tree seems overall healthy.

I don't recall ever seeing such a severe and sudden coating of sticky stuff occurring.

:happy1::happy1:

Hackberries sometimes do that. I don't know how. I cut down a sticky hackberry once. I've heard that silver maple can do it, but I have never noticed that.

I like the idea of aphid poop, it makes sense.

Yup.