Helmet stank

I periodically wash with water, and sometimes soap. After using, make sure it gets good air circulation to dry out. I keep mine in a plastic bag hanging in the truck to protect it from sun. When I've really sweated it up, I make sure the textile front is at the top of the bag to get more air. I guesstimate I wash it four times a year. More clustered around the summer months.

I’ll soak mine in soapy water and rise several times and replace muff guts often. But I can assure you there is nothing nastier than putting your helmet on for the first time Monday morning and it starts dripping sweat from last Friday. Eww!

Me too) I've been using this since 2010. In 2010, it was quite a hot summer here. The temperature was stable around +30°C. This forced me to abandon headphones and develop a forced ventilation system. We have a saying:,, Keep your feet warm and your head cold,,. However, I think that at high temperatures it is necessary to keep all parts of the body cold)

How does this help with the helmet ventilation?
less sweat, less crap hanging off the helmet to block airflow, im sure theres a few others

ive figured out stopping my helmet from the stank, I just dont wear it unless I have to, soon as im on lunch, in the truck, or not under a climber it comes off (back on when I need earmuffs for chipping but I also have ISOTunes for that)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
less sweat, less crap hanging off the helmet to block airflow, im sure theres a few others

ive figured out stopping my helmet from the stank, I just dont wear it unless I have to, soon as im on lunch, in the truck, or not under a climber it comes off (back on when I need earmuffs for chipping but I also have ISOTunes for that)
Gotcha. I don’t have muffs on my climbing helmet either. I hear you about removing it. When it’s hot, my helmet and chaps are removed very frequently- only as needed basis.