Why DRT?

Treeaddict

Treehouser
Once I “leaned” SRT, I’ve never used drt again on my main climb line. I still use it on my lanyard usually but that’s the extent of it. I have found the srt superior in every way - I’m an expert, you know😂. Wondering if anyone who is proficient in srt is still using drt in certain situations? What situations might those be?

Generally speaking, those who are good with both DdRT and SRT/MRS use whichever one is most effective in a given situation. I unfortunately don't do srt yet but afaik, DdRT is highly favored for crane work, for example.

Not me, but I think I saw a video once by Daniel Holliday of Climbing Arborist fame using a combination system in which he had an SRT line pulled up into the tree for ascent, and then hung a DdRT system off of the SRT rope using a hitch cord with a pulley on it for doing limb walks. I guess it makes it easier to pull yourself back in to center. If I'm recalling correctly. It has been a while. Tim.

Last edited:
Back and forth situation dependant. Why I use a devise that can do both.
Ascent SRT.
Limb walk SRT unless its a steep drooping limb and i might change over to Ddrt. Limb walk less friction needed, lots of limbs or redirects to spider down and back up to target work zones, SRT.
If I have a spreading crown where it will be faster to move my tie in Ddrt and stll often switch to SRT to limb walk.
Versitility and knowing what will work better for you in different circumstances will up your game, your comfort, your efficiency and prowness.

@Treeaddict;

Here's the link to the video I believe I recall seeing so long ago.