what kind of whipping twine do you use?
do you think wax covered is necessary?
what about braided twine?

is this overkill?

or is this more than enough?

Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Last edited:
Actually I had some old Zing It 1.8mm line which began tangling on me a few months after I bought it. I replaced it with Zing It 2.2mm and ended up using a bunch of the old 1.8mm line for whipping on my rope splices. It worked great. Later I just bought whipping twine from one of the arborist supply places, probably Sherrill or Wesspur. I no longer whip my splices because the whipping just gets torn up in use. I use the twine for making hidden lock stitches and leave the splices unwhipped.

Yes waxed, grips better and stays in place better during the whip. When it's done it kind of melds together, helps protect it from the abuse of being on the end of a working rope.

Skwerl, what size rope is that?

Since im new to the whole splicing concept i got to get the whipping out of my system too.

I think it might be worth it to get one of each and see how they compare down the road.

Is the idea behind seizing getting the half hitches as close to each other as possible?

I use this product from Amazon and it has served me well. Started off with some standard 1mm twine that came in my splicing starter kit and I still have it while I’ve gone through like 3 rolls of this stuff. The higher diameter is so much easier. Never tried a non waxed version but if it slides more than the waxed stuff I would never want to even try it

Edit:FSE Robline Waxed Tackle Yarn Whipping Twine - White - 1.5mm x 32M

Last edited:
Skwerl, what size rope is that?

Since im new to the whole splicing concept i got to get the whipping out of my system too.

I think it might be worth it to get one of each and see how they compare down the road.

Is the idea behind seizing getting the half hitches as close to each other as possible?