Saddle recommendations

Billhowe1

Treehouser
I'm in need of a new saddle, I'm debating between a tree motion, Buckingham puma I think it's called, and a really comfy looking weaver a local shop has with a strap bridge instead of a rope. I'm open to any other recommendations as well. I'm literally just starting (this past Monday to be exact) with srt, mainly drt on a hitch climber setup.

Welcome! Of the three harnesses I have, my new NewTribe Onyx is my favorite by a long shot. Allows hanging in rope comfortably for an indefinite amount of time. I also have a Camp fall arrest harness that pinches in the crotch a bit, and is less comfortable for hanging a long time, and a Buckingham 4D saddle that's great for spur work, but absolutely awful for hanging in rope.

I'm just a hobbyist, so I'm not in any of them every day or anything. If this is your career, I'd encourage you to not weight cost too heavily in your decision. $100-$200 one way or another is nothing for something that's gonna last at least a couple years, and you're spending hours a day in. Get what you think is most comfortable, ideally hanging in them in a shop.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks, the biggest thing for me is good back padding/lumbar support, how's that on a tree motion?

I flew a cougar and loved it. Replaced the web bridge with rope and a ring. Earlier days of cougar though. Passed it on to a trainee and went with the Tree Austria next. Cougar was comfy though. Heavier than my Austria. But still not so much it was an issue. I needed fall arrest and the Austria doubles as both a climbing and, rated for fall arrest, bucket lift. No need to change my saddle and I can climb into the tree from the bucket as needed.

I really like the monkey beaver. I've been in it for 4-5 yrs now and i wouldn't change it for much of anything. Had a new tribe onyx before that which was also a good saddle but the belt on the MB is a big improvement for heavy work