drying wood in a semi tralier

darkstar

Rockclimber/ treeclimber
Here are photos of the last couple days work.
What should i do to better assure this wood dries ok ?
I was thinking of installing a fan at one end to keep the air moving .
And i was going to spray the floor with bug juice to discourage any ants etc., but with colder weather moving in it should be ok.
Most of all the wood pictured is 10 foot by an inch and a eigth cherry.
There is some 16 foot oak of various lengths widths
All of it is stickered with one by ones.
I know they look wobbly but its just the photo.
Its all straight pic doesent show how much wood there is either that cherry in the back is 11 foot long.

Also thats the loader trailer with its new floor of green 2 and a quater thick 16 foot oak of various width , mostly 4 inch.
And a close up of one side cut of cherry i like.

I recon ill be looking at maybe 6 months drying time?
Its my first attempt so any advice appreciated.
I have a great saw mill just up the way and he sawed all this in exchange for some logs.
The thought is that ill fill the entire semi up over the next few weeks.

Im also thinking of maybe building a kiln but id rather just use the semi trailer since i already have it.

Attachments

• wood drying 2008 003.jpg
    wood drying 2008 003.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 83
  • wood drying 2008 001.jpg
    wood drying 2008 001.jpg
    59.4 KB · Views: 83
  • wood drying 2008 002.jpg
    wood drying 2008 002.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 83
  • wood drying 2008 005.jpg
    wood drying 2008 005.jpg
    58.9 KB · Views: 83
  • wood drying 2008 004.jpg
    wood drying 2008 004.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 83
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
close up

A close up of some oak and a pict of the semi trailer hidden by the bushes:D

Attachments

• wood drying 2008 007.jpg
    wood drying 2008 007.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 82
  • wood drying 2008 008.jpg
    wood drying 2008 008.jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 81