Cypress in decline for 2 years?

TINYHULK

Treehouser
Hey tree fam! As y’all know I’m still studying for the isa arborist and have not gained knowledge on this topic yet. We all just came back from arborfest and a lady calls us for a phc concern. She absolutely loves this tree and has been in decline for a couple years. To our knowledge there hasn’t been any construction or major land changes nearby. Definitely interested in the yellowing behind the peeling bark. Zone 7b and lots of pictures coming 6EB5BF81-86EE-4F6C-BA8F-DC299F27FD0D.jpeg E23CF375-16F6-4C10-9999-645D157A49FB.jpeg E9F09C24-CE5C-4BCB-A59E-A8D2EB31B0A6.jpeg CBFAA552-05B8-4D1F-B554-8156CD3CD3B9.jpeg 625AFE09-A448-4D3A-9606-A604DC6C1D0C.jpeg A6488440-0281-416D-8CD8-5FB12B746EB0.jpeg

If the customer says 2 years, it means 10 +/- years.

Drought? Freeze? Intense heat?

Girdling roots?

Compaction?

IME, decline is often a combo of factors, sometimes/ often both biotic and abiotic.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
If the customer says 2 years, it means 10 +/- years.

Drought? Freeze? Intense heat?

Girdling roots?

Compaction?

IME, decline is often a combo of factors, sometimes/ often both biotic and abiotic.
Summer of 2020 was one of our hottest and had a long drought aswell but it hasn’t been super bad since. No recent construction so idk how compaction could be a thing, don’t have an air spade to excavate and check for girdling roots. Could be a watering issue. I’m more interested if there are any noticeable issues in the tree and what the mode of diagnostics would be. Is the browning just chlorosis, what’s causing the excessive bark peeling, what are the yellowing spots on the underside of the bark. And ultimately is there a reasonable way to save this tree or should it just be removed

What kind of cypress?