Bang/Buck Rigging Rope?

lxskllr

Treehouser
Been thinking about getting some more stout line for various uses. Probably won't be for rigging trees, but maybe it will too. I'm looking for a good generalist rope that takes a beating, and works for a lot of activities. That was why I got my ½" treemaster and promaster lines. Where to go from there?

My pulleys are ⅝", so that would indicate a ⅝" rope, but that's only a modest upgrade, and pulleys aren't super expensive if I were to get something bigger. StableBraid? That's different than what I have. More TreeMaster, but bigger? Arborplex?

You all know what I'm about. I'm in this for the kicks, and don't absolutely need anything. Whatever I get will be inappropriately used/abused for various tasks that may or may not even involve trees. Given the gear I have, my skill level, and rate of engagement with trees in particular, what would be a good companion rope for a little more oomph?

I use 1/2 arborplex for light stuff and 5/8 treemaster for heavier stuff. I need to break down and get some super thick stuff, but I've killed a bunch of trees using this so far and the thick stuff would be just so i could do bigger pieces and do stuff faster. I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish, I'm trying to figure out why you would need rope with more capacity.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
General pulling and lifting. Specifically right now, hauling logs out of the woods. My rope should be fine, but when I get to the bigger pieces, it's gonna be close when knots are figured in. Might be hauling a truck out of the mud at a distance, might be negative rigging a tree. Dunno. Looking for some useful insurance I can pull out, and not think "Hmm... I wonder if this is gonna work?"

Stablebraid is an proven line and what i run most of the time but the price point of Maple Leaf's high tenacity double braid is appealing and virtually the same specs as Samson.