Accountants/ office people games

frans

TreeHouser
As a contractor i come across these people occasionally who seem to delight in throwing their weight around.

The latest is a customer really wanting us to do the job, tottally happy with the result, hapoy as a pig in shit we could schedule his job. but then the office people are actually resentful at simply paying us. Came in to their office to get paid, and i hear, 'wow, you guys make alot of money'! Then she says, oh i cannot issue a check until i have all your paperwork on file. W4, proof of insurance, signed contract, invoice in hand, etc etc.

These people piss me off

Rant rant rant

Anyone else get this?

Bean counters...yep, once in awhile. Not yet in treework...my treework is for mostly private folks.

In our x-ray business with municipalities we have to jump thru all kind of hoops. Once it cost us an extra $100 on an insurance rider to be allowed to move x-ray eqpt. thru the lobby of a medical building. It was just a normal building full of doctor's offices...but managed by prima donna a-holes who thought their world was special.

You should've stubbed your toe and sued them Gary. ;)

Sounds like bs Fran's. If all that was agreed upon before the work was given the go ahead sure. Otherwise shut up and pay up.

yep, that can be annoying. When working for folks that you think might be a problem, don't hesitate to ask, what do you need in order for us to be paid. Like with a federal court house, just tell me how I am getting paid, by whom and what do they need to make that happen.

I love it when we work it the other way around, have a check on site before we start. Watch them dance!! oh, this and that...no, we will start when the check is there.

We've gotten proactive by sending out W-9's and Insurance Certificates along with the bid for commercial jobs.

We do get the occasional foot dragger who insists on some obscure document before paying, like "Additional Named Insured." :/: