Making more work for myself. On purpose.

flashover604

TreeHouser
Humor me...

I had a lady get ahold of me about removing a 35' pine tree along her fence row. She's got twelve in total. A couple have died and been cut down already over the years. The pine is still green in places and brown in others and she'd rather have a hole than look at the tree dying. I can just drop it and dispose of it on the ground, but I thought I'd climb it and dismantle it because I've never done a pine like that before. (I'm new here, remember?)

I've gotten into the habit of posting here before I do something safe and easy because in the past I've overlooked something or THINGS that could have easily killed me and I appreciate and respect the knowledge base here. Also, you guys aren't afraid to just tell me I'm an idiot for thinking about doing what I was thinking about doing.

I figure there are two ways to go about it. The first is just start at the bottom with a couple lanyards and work my way up removing branches as I come to them until I get close enough to the top to take the top off. I'm picturing Butch's "S'cause me..." shirt on a far smaller scale. I don't think I'll need to rig it down, just notch, cut, and push since there's nothing below to hurt.

The second way would be to throw a rope and basal anchor it and use the lanyard for a safety and positioning. Either way, it's climbing a tree. I think I can manage that. For the most part I think a handsaw will take care of most of the limbs.

I've got nothing else planned for the day and I won't be in a hurry. I won't be by myself. Is there anything you guys can think of that I'm not? It really seems pretty straight forward.

Famous last words...I know.

Is there a fence on this fence row?

You don't want to damage it?

If so, just toss it.

I never climb anything I can throw.