All For One or One for One?

• Thread starter Levi
  • Start date
  • Replies 65
  • Views 7K
L

Levi

In my brief time as a tree worker in Colorado I have often thought about the wages for tree workers and ways to increase them, we all know it is a dangerous job and a hard one at that. Many solutions have been put forth, mainly the idea of improving public image and professionalism in order to demand higher compensation from the public. I've wondered many times if there should be some type of union or collective that could have more bargaining power. What do the tree housers say? As an owner operator I really have no stake in this at the moment, I set my own rates and get the compensation I need to get by and carry on. However I still come in to contact with and often think about the folks who toil away for peanuts on a daily basis. Is it every man for himself or should we have an eye to elevate our trade as a whole?

Haven't you realized yet the ISA is in fact a tree Union guild?

You need to read more Isaac Asimov sci-fi mate, the foundation trilogy in point of fact.

Trade guilds rule the future!

If yu can't put up?

Shut the ef up!

Asimov rocks!

Jomo

It aint gonna happen. In a million years. Be nice though (maybe) to be the beneficiaries of some good money and big benees.

I say maybe because so many union members seem to lead gross, entitled lives. Kind of fat,dumb, and happy. A massive generalization of course but it's what I've noticed.

I think the far superior answer is to build one's business strong so you can make good money and reward yourself and good employees commensurately.

WTF's your beef with a minimum wage in this industry you can pay the friggin bills on, Rex, yu friggin societal parasite?

Wanna stay warm at night Yu friggin cannibal?

Then pay me a friggin living wage azzhole!

Jomo

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Haven't you realized yet the ISA is in fact a tree Union guild?