Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Gas damage to saw

TreeHouser

Default Gas damage to saw

As I understand it current pump gas with ethanol will deteriorate plastic fuel lines in power tools and you should purge them when they're going to be stored. But what about tools that are used constantly and constantly have fuel in the lines? If they're constantly exposed to ethanol are they doomed to have rotted lines eventually?

TreeHouser

Most newer tools can tolerate ethanol fuels. I am fortunate that I can buy ethanol free gas and I always use 92/93 octane.
    I don't know about special formed fuel lines but "tygon" fuel lines are available.
    I believe Marine StaBil is supposed to neutralize ethanol in gasoline, but I have no experience.

unsanitized

Viton might be good for ethanol. It holds up great with 100% biodiesel, pricey but ya get what ya pay fer.
    Molon Pepe

Bamboo Plantation Owner Sponsor Tucker943's Avatar

My regularly run saws have never had ethanol damage.

Higher octanes up here are ethanol free. IME ethanol just gummed up carbs.
    Peter

Captain Zero! Sponsor FireFighterZero's Avatar

I go to NAPA and get a lot of parts. Rubber parts such as vacuum caps, fuel lines, diaphragms and such.

Guy behind the counter always blames it on ethanol.

Funny thing is that my old junk has never seen any ethanol.
    Is this not a reasonable place to park?

The bureaucracy is expanding to meet the needs of the expanding bureaucracy.

Jim Conrad

I think it depends on the compounds. I've seen a few fuel lines just literally disintegrate in homeowner saws. No problems with with the pro stuff so far. . .

I'm pulling a Stig though, and have just been running Alkylate in my personal stuff. No probs there either. . .
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterward.”
    Vernon Law

Sam

MI-4209A

Gas is different in different areas. Ethanol is not the culpit in this drama, it is all other crap they have in it.