srt canopy tie in

onepaw

TreeHouser
Hello. I'm New to climbing and especially srt. I've used different base tie techniques and I'm sitting here thinking about canopy tie ins. I've read about using the running bowline and alpine butterfly and using another line to retrieve. My question is could I use a carabiner and run my climb line thru it and use it to cinch around the limb? Then climb up to the carabiner, hook it to my saddle and decend ddrt? Just wondering if that would be safe and effective. I can't find any information on it and figured you guys could help! Thanks

I use a screw locking biner replaced every year or so as my main way of direct tie. I just tie a alpine butterfly with two end of rope on ground then clip and lock generally i keep the gate of the biner up so weighted rope is on the solid side and not on the gate of the biner

You certainly could Guy but It wouldn't be my preferred method. There's always a chance the carabiner could become cross loaded or that the gate could even open in a rare case. Untying a running bowline and clipping into your bridge for ddrt descent only takes a few seconds and is worth the peace of mind for me.

I use an alpine butterfly knot and a delta quick link. You can set as much climb line as you need. Retreive with the otherside.

RB and then I clip a caribiner to the tail of the bowline
image.jpg
I'll either hook up ddrt or clip a few loop runners on that Biner when ready to bring down the spar

I use a running bowline with a Yosemite finish or double overhand stopper knot with the climb line descending through the bight, and tie the other end of my line to the tail on the knot for a retrieve from the ground and cinch it up onto the crotch. Just have to make sure to tie into the correct rope when starting to climb!!

I agree with the others here who advise against using a carabiner in this configuration. The running bowline, with a safety on the tail end, is a far better option.