Questions about being self employed/contract climber

McGuarantee

TreeHouser
Hi all!

I currently work as a full time 50+ hour climber/foreman for a company in Nashville, TN.
I am tossing around the idea of becoming a more self employed climber, and contracting my work. Some to the company I work for now and maybe for some other companies around Nashville as well.
The goal is more freedom in my schedule to pursue other interests, hobbies and such. One of which is starting a recreational tree climbing school in Tennessee.

My question is who here is self employed/ contract climbing? How much of PITA or cost is insurance? What type of insurance do you have, what are 1099 taxes like, etc?

Do you find it more freeing or more stressful not being tied to an everyday, 5-6 day a week schedule?

If anyone made the switch in their career from full-time employment to contracting how did it work out financially? Was it a bit of a hit at first?

Just all around curious, really! Thanks, I appreciate the thoughts and feedback.

Get any loans you need, business, vehicle, mortgage, while you have a work history and salary/ wages from an established employer.

Insurance is the easy part of the business. You shop around, go to Stratum in CA if they cover your state. You proabably need a contractor's license, contractor's surety bond, commercial auto insurance, etc.

Get an accountant to set up books for yourself, or just have them do the taxes.

As a business owner/ to become a business owner, I had to set up an account with Dept. of Revenue for sales tax, and Dept of Labor and Industries for a Contractor's license, and Worker's comp (not applicable to you). ETC, ETC. Your state will vary. WA has a simple link on their Department of Labor and Industries about starting a business.

Incorporate, possibly, over sole prop. I would.

What sort of insurance are we on about? Just curious.