Pruning close to winter

Bermy

Acolyte of the short bar
Ok, I'm still a bit new to this whole proper four seasons thing...it's getting well into autumn here, A big old ash tree that I had been looking at for a while has just come my way.
I had left my card at the house when I saw a big branch had broken out up top.
Yesterday the owner stopped me outside the store and said he's like to get the branch cut out and the weight reduced on the bigger limbs.
Thing is the tree is just starting to change colour on the inner branches...

My gut says leave it till its naked, but I'll be unavailable in about three weeks, and not able to get back to it for a couple months at least.

By the time I'm back to climbing it will be late winter/early spring...
He's waited this long...

What would you do?

I'd rather prune it now than early spring, but I don't worry too much when I prune Ash anyway.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Plenty frost in Tasmania Max! -2c forecast for Monday...

Thanks guys, I'll book it in for next week :)

To continue this topic, but more general, when is good time to prune and when is it a no-no? I have a client with several maples to trim, and I am not sure when I should do them I was thinking after it gets leaves (early summer) or after they drop (late fall). But this not based on any actual knowledge. ..

My old boss would not prune UNTIL the leave were out on maples and walnut as in the spring they bleed like stuck pigs when the sap is rising.
I've heard on other forums from people who seem to know their onions that there is no damage to the tree in doing this but it does look a bit dramatic when it's dripping out of every cut, plus if you're above expensive ornamental stuff it could possibly stain it.

Like anything observing whats going on around you is crucial, working strictly by the book is too confining, that said, these are some of the 'rules of thumb' I was taught: