Time for a bigger saw

woodslinger

TreeHouser
I'm sure this has been beaten around like the proverbial dead horse, but here goes. .

I currently have a 2 echos, 355t and 450P. I love them both and have no issues with them, but I am considering buying a larger felling saw. The 450 has an 18" bar on it, so I wish I had more bar pretty often. I am also looking at a large pine removal for my sister (family freebie) and my wife wants the logs for her garden beds but I would have to quarter the trunk just to move them. I'm sure I could do all that with my 450 but good lord it would take forever. I rely pretty heavily on that saw and it never lets me down, but nothing kills your equip like not having the right tool for the job. I'm not really brand loyal, and I have no idea what I should really be looking for. I was thinking a 60cc saw should suffice, but I have no experience in larger saws. And even assuming I knew which size I wanted, I get lost between the pro level and rancher level stihls, and the husky numbers make no sense to me at all. Add to that the differences in the same model line with epa regs and the hot saw of last generation is now a congested dog, makes my head spin a bit. I guess I'm looking for the most bang for my buck, and all around usefullness.
Any recommendations?

Chris,

I still have my Echo saws....great saws....never let me down once. But, like you, I needed something a bit larger. I ended up with the Husqvarna 562XP. You just wouldn't believe the difference in performance until you try it for yourself.

The 562XP is a 60cc saw. It's not really designed to be used as a stump saw, but it will certainly get the job done on anything up to about 3.5 feet in diameter. It is one of the best performing saws in its class....and I give it the highest rating.