Springboard cleats

SouthSoundTree-

TreeHouser
For Stephan, from another thread

ba997958ddee85c59f5f94fa19f2c145.jpg
060c65e59c01a20d987ada5f20a80b16.jpg
9ebc5fa7f369bd3a9182446d9fe38d70.jpg
02b1faae8642e3034a4a8d0744f2bac7.jpg

This was fabricated for a friend. Eyeballing... Is say 1/4" plate. A ring was cut off a pipe. Cut in half, beveled, and welded.

I need to reset my board. In a pinch, I cut a 2x8" down to size. Mount the end of the board all the way up to the end of the plate, and maybe bevel a bit. I used 3 short lag bolts.

This design allows the cutter to stand near the cleat on one for and kick the SB clockwise and counter clockwise. Kick it toward the lay for the face cut, and away from the lay to be in a good position to back cut.

I am a SB rookie, having used one about a half dozen times. Good for coo dominant trunks splitting near the ground, as well as getting above a defect or butt swell that prevents a single bar from reaching the whole face or back cut.

The last tree I cut was a hard enough leaning, hollow maple. I cut a SB notch, like a conventional face cut, but smaller, at 5-6' where my 36" reached across enough for me to cut it from one side, possibly chasing the cut a bit.

Some of our seasoned loggers can elaborate with experience, and maybe post some limb-SBs, made on site. Squish posted one recently, but hard to see the fine points.

Best board will be clear tight vertical grain sawn Doug fir, the vertical grain keeps sag to a minimum. Taper towards the end away from the nose, for lighter carry weight.

Cork boots are just about a requirement.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I never had cork boots when using a SB. Slick, for sure.

Alternatively, Grooving the board with shallow kerfs, or some sort of grip tape, perhaps. Most of us won't have corks. What do you suggest short of them, B?

I have heard the same as to the board selection from Duane, who gave me his extra cleat.

Share some tricks, Burnham, Gerry, Old Irish, et al.