NWA Cottenwood Takedown

Evan Sussman

TreeHouser
I just got a go pro, so I'm pretty excited. It'll take a few tries to get used to, but I'm stoked.

This tree was huge. like 140'+ and 5' DBH + one of the ground crews estimates.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/qVPdSPGHnvI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

big tree , nice work evan.
it makes things much faster when your man on the ropes knows what he's doing :thumbup:

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
big tree , nice work evan.
it makes things much faster when your man on the ropes knows what he's doing :thumbup:

So much so, believe it or not, he's even got room to improve, but on anything critical where I was concerned it went beautifully. He was having trouble gauging wraps on the GRCS, and I have little experience gauging from the climbers perspective, so a few times we had too much, but it was on the smaller stuff.

"Tagline", managing the pieces once the tips touched down. We were having trouble having them layout in the right direction.

So much so, believe it or not, he's even got room to improve, but on anything critical where I was concerned it went beautifully. He was having trouble gauging wraps on the GRCS, and I have little experience gauging from the climbers perspective, so a few times we had too much, but it was on the smaller stuff.

yeah it varies a lot from tree to tree , i find that its very rare to have over two wraps unless its some serious snatching going on.
did you use the bollard or the winch ?

Wow! great video Evan. Those were big limbs. Everything looked really smooth.

What is everyones take on using a steel biner in place of a running bowline? I've seen this in many videos, and done it several times myself, but I always feel like I'm cheating the rules a little. . . Clearly Evans video demonstrates that there is adequate strength, I'm just wondering how everyone feels about this as best practice. Not knocking it at all! just curious.