Starting a tree service.

colin-roberts

Young Arborist
Hello, hope this is the right area for this.

I'm a young man who is looking to start his own tree service, i've been climbing off and on for a few years along with working as an advisory arborist for a nursery. My problem is wherer to start and getting the motivation to take the risk to start. looking for advice in any topic you guys can help with, you guys are the best and brightest without the drama. Many thanks looking to be a long term member here.

IMO buy stump grinder and start part time with that. Around here it is easy money (if boring) and you dont need any employees.. Get some savings as a tree co. is going to need it to get started.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
ye making a small fortune would be very very nice.. although unlikely.. I'm definatelly not expecting to get rich from this adventure. As for the help, luckly have family who is well versed in owning a business/ running a business but not in the tree care industry. Around me noone really climbs tree's so its hard to get experience or get knowledge from local tree services. i think i know my niche but its the reassurance that i can make it work ect.

Whereabouts in Ontario are you located?
I'm ~2 hours north of Toronto where lean winter months = negative cash flow.

I'm about 2 hours south of Toronto. I replace my gear slowly, some of the original is fine, mostly just need to add gear

Maybe start accumulating the equipment that you will need. You don't have to be using it, but preparing for when you want to take the plunge. Days off at your other job can be doing your own work, more and more phasing into it and minimizing your risk by already having some client connections when you do go full bore. Know that running your own business is a job of many colors, being chief cook and bottle washer while answering the phone. Are you up for the commitment?